Norwegian Marine University Consortium
An academic forum for cooperation on marine and maritime research, education and infrastructure

The Norwegian Marine University Consortium (NMU) is an institutional cooperation agreement among ten universities in Norway with considerable marine and maritime profil. These are:

The University of Bergen (UiB), The Arctic University of Norway (UiT), Nord University (NordU), Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), Western Norwegian University of Applied Sciences (HVL), University of Stavanger (UiS), University of Agder (UiA), University of Oslo (UiO) and Norwegian University of Life Sciences (NMBU), the University of Southern-Eastern Norway (USN) and the Norwegian School of Economics (NHH)

NMU´s objectives

  • To coordinate the participation of Norway´s universities at the European Marine Board (EMB). It is a channel of communication on marine and maritime issues, and facilitates the Norwegian participation in processes initiated, and led, by EMB
  • To promote cooperation in marine and maritime research, education and infrastructure among its members
  • To contribute to the academic and research policy discussions on marine og maritime issues to the European Commission and other international organisations